Vanitas revisited


In an interesting turn of events since beginning work on my video archive I was contacted in February by Berlin-based Dane, Jens Christian Madsen about using an older work of mine, Vanitas 100 (from 13 years ago!!! Is that possible!?!), in a clip for his band/project Tjaere+Fjer‘s song Faking It All.

As a video within a video it will appear without Jamie Kiffiak’s deliciously soporific voiceover, but it’s quite exciting to think something from so long ago has some life. I was intruiged by the directors synopsis and am really looking forward to seeing the finished piece which must be in production AS I TYPE!

I made it while living in Vancouver, Canada in 2000 and there are a lot of things I would do differently now, but I still like the 100 freakishly differing self-portraits taken with a Nintendo Gameboy camera and anyone who’s really UP with everything I do will recognise Jamies script as having been re-used for 2011’s A Pack of Lies and indeed was the concept model for ALL the scripts from that work.

You can hear Tjaere+Fjer’s latest release II including Faking It All here.

This is a video for an earlier track Away which I quite dig too. Retro sounding electronica with 80’s mumbles.

2 thoughts on “Vanitas revisited

  1. Greetings from California! I’m bored at work so I decided to
    browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a
    look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, good blog!

  2. Thanks for some other informative site. Where else could I am getting that type of information written in such an ideal way?
    I have a project that I’m just now working on, and I
    have been at the glance out for such info.

Leave a Reply

