Lift your skinny fists like antennas to heaven

I was listening to this album by Godspeed You! Black Emperor yesterday afternoon. It’s so big and gorgeous and fulfilling. They’ve had such a far-reaching and all-pervasive influence on so much that has come after that I’d kind of forgotten the impact of the original.

I should never let that happen.

It played into a cycle of big listening:- The Besnard Lakes …are the dark horse has been in the car stereo and GYBE sent us into the last Sigur Rós, Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust and Matt put on some Silver Mount Zion Memorial Orchestra & Tra-la-la Band (some of the GYBE guys I think) – ‘This is our Punk-Rock’ thee rusted satellites gather and sing, who I had always intended, but had never got around to listening to.

I was kicked off in this whole direction by a Townsville band (heard on a new-to-me blog dedicated to new Australian music), called The Middle East and their song, Blood that makes me feel all full and optimistic.

When I get paid I’m buying the album.

I realise a few people get put off by some of the naming, titling and creative grammar and punctuation involved which leads them to assess this stuff as pretentious, but you know what? It’s beautiful and incidentally, Lift your skinny fists like antennas to heaven is my favourite title for anything, ever.

There’s a time for everything and sometimes, like hair, music needs to be big.

(album cover image from Wikipedia)

Leave a Reply

