Frankenfinger

Spent Saturday in the hospital.

We visited B in the morning who just gets better and better and has now been moved from the ICU to rehab, has no tubes coming out of him and can make his own way into a wheelchair if you give him 20 minutes or so. He has the telly on now, his eyesight hasn’t quite improved enough for reading but I took him some books anyway.

Later in the day in an act of supreme idiocy. I broke into my friend Cazzy’s house and attempted to do her washing up. Cazzy just finished her honours year in painting and is a bona fide 2D superstar. I missed her party. I felt bad. I thought secretly cleaning up after her party while she was out getting milk and the paper would be a nice congratulations present. Instead I broke a glass in the sink and ring-barked a finger, nicking a tendon in the process. In my left-hand. Which is a bugger because I’m left-handed. I am an idiot.

Cue for me to return to the hospital and spend the rest of the day in emergency waiting to be stiched back together. It has five stiches which is quite a lot on such a small area. So much so, in fact, it looks like they’ve put someone elses on. Or experimented in attaching the pointy finger of a monkey to a human… except it’s not brown and hairy…

It’s one of the freakiest looking injuries I’ve ever had and definitely the bloodiest. I went a bit green. It looked like a scene from M*A*S*H* in there. This effect was aided by the fact that Dr Nick (yes!) was a funny fecker. He offered to write me a medical certificate saying I could no longer wash up or do laundry but also offered to add that Frankenfinger means I require a new handbag if I so desire. Ho Ho.

B has to do physio with all bits of the bod, including the face. His instructions have these awesome illustrations:

4 thoughts on “Frankenfinger

  1. Miss Sally I hope you didn’t attempt to do Mums washing up with out full safty and proper provisions. If so you should have known better, silly kind hearted girl.

    Stella

  2. Miss Sally I hope you didn’t attempt to do Mums washing up with out full safety provisions. If so you should have known better, silly kind hearted girl. Sorry your finger got mutilated.

    Stella

Leave a Reply

