What a visit to ICU can do.

OK.. so I wigged out a bit yesterday.

We went to visit B in the intensive care neurological unit this morning, and while it’s distressing to see him so helpless and unexplainably struck down, the doctors say he’s showing little improvements already and we left the horsepital feeling confident that he’ll make a full recovery. At the root of things he’s a big strong bloke, although he doesn’t look it right now.

It’s called Guillan-Barré syndrome and it started with pins and needles in his hands and feet on Saturday that became more intense until by Tuesday he was unable to walk without assistance. Now he’s on his back and finds it difficult to make his mouth form words properly, but he manages. There is no known cause but 80% of sufferers recover fully.

Them is good odds.

He said it feels like someones given him a full body dead-leg but he can still muster a giggle at the ‘nil orally’ sign above his head.

The Lymphoma Warrior is coming around to visit and I shall cook him borscht. I make awesome borscht even if I do say so myself and he loves it. I’m boiling beets as I type.

Fautive is right. Everyone WILL be fine.

4 thoughts on “What a visit to ICU can do.

  1. My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different web page and thought
    I might check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you.
    Look forward to checking out your web page repeatedly.

Leave a Reply

